Lepidophobia
4:26 p.m. - 2003-07-17

hey boys, girls, and children of all ages. Ok, let me pull out a comfy chair.... aaaah, that's the ticket. Let's begin.

I've been... busy, I guess. Yah, busy. but that's good. Yesterday I complained that I was sick of summer, but really, I find ways to enjoy myself anyway, don't I? Over the next few days I plan to regale you with stories of what I've been up to and funny things. Right.


But first I'd like to take a second to say how cool Diaryland has been to me, and how cool Diaryland has been to a lot of us. Really cool - and now Andrew, The owner and operator of Diaryland, needs our help. If you enjoy diaryland, please consider upgrading. I upgraded to a super gold today myself. Go andrew! Go diaryland! Here are a few reasons I love being a gold member at diaryland:

So comon everybody, upgrade, upgrade, woooo!


Now that that's done, let me tell you what is probably one of my funniest stories of the summer. The setting: It was the fourth of july, and the kids and I decided to go see fireworks the city puts on in a park. It was a warm night, so I had the windows rolled down in the van, to let the cool breeze in. There we are, crusing along, listening to music, enjoying life. Then Becca, who was sitting shotgun, turns her head and says, "Oh my lord. That's the biggest butterfly I have ever seen."

My stomach dropped, I gulped, and slowed the car. "Where?!" I ask, but becca turns her head and says, "Never mind, no where." But then Tim, who was sitting in the middle, startled. "Oh my god!", he exclaims, and jumps to becca's side of the van. I turn my head to where tim's horrified gaze is

fixed.

It's the window right behind my head, and on it is the biggest butterfly I have ever seen. And it's flapping, flying against the window. That was it, really, that was the end of my sanity. I curl up into a little ball, trying to keep one foot on the brake. "Becca, Becca," I'm crying, "don't let it touch me! I'm so scared" I was shaking, and I don't think I was breathing right.

I'm aware of the sound of the butterfly hitting the window, and another glance verifies that butterfly is dangerously close to my head. I throw the car into park and jump on becca's lap, in the passenger seat. I was crying, and shaking, and not breathing or thinking, but I had a plan: I was going to climb out of becca's window to get away from the butterfly.

We're parked in the middle of a residential road, and there are people out in the lawns laughing and cheering me on. "Just drive already!" They shout. Becca was disgusted, trying to comfort me and get me to drive at the same time. Finally she puts one arm around me, holds me down, extends her other arm, GRABS THE BUTTERFLY, and throws it out the window! Then she manages to calm me down, reassuring me that the butterfly is in fact gone and I can drive now.

Yes, folks, I suffer from a very real and very scary phobia: a fear of butterflies. For me, there's nothing scarier, nothing more horrible, than one of those winged insects. Flys, small moths, even spiders I can manage, but... *shudder* butterflies.... ugh.

So today I was doing a little internet reading on it. This website defines Lepidophobia as the fear of snakes, but on this page all of us who are mortally scared of butterflies gather together.

Well, it's time for me to get ready for work. bye, kids.

Hearing: Beck - "Where it's at"

earlier latest


- - 2004-09-17
quizes - 2004-09-14
- - 2004-09-13
G-mail. - 2004-09-05
what happened - 2004-09-05

current
archives
cast
rings
readers
profile
email
notes
guestbook
diaryreviews


[ Registered ]






Original design by Lis, but many modifications were done by me. Special thanks to diaryland. All content � Sarah, 2001 - 2003. If you steal my stuff I'll scream.