nasty week
11:07 a.m. - 2003-06-04

:) So it's a good thing that I had a nice day on Sunday, because the rest of the week has been..... quite hard. When I got to work on Monday, I learned that 2 people had died. A guy named Mel from the next department died of a heart attack on friday night, and the grandson of one of my co-workers was shot through the chest. Someone else called in sick, so there was plenty of overtime. I ended up staying until 1 am, doing a 12 hour shift, to both make up some lost production and make some extra money. We were talking about all the deaths in the breakroom, C tower and I. "2 of my girlfriends called me and told me thier dads died last week," said one of my co-workers, Nancy. We all shook our heads. "I've had enough. This is enough death for me." she continued. We all nodded.

Monday night I came home and crashed. 12 hours in the factory is exausting, especially at these new speeds, and it was a hot day. I woke up tuesday at noon, sore from head to toe, and got ready for work. Jess picked me up in her new car, because all the bikes are in bad shape.

While at work during my first shift, we started talking about hitting deer. For those of you who live in places where 800 pound animals don't run out in front of your car at 60 mph, lucky you. I bet people in florida just have to miss.... alligators, or something. We talked about all the ways deer can hit your car, and what to do, and how to avoid them.

I stayed for an additional 4 hours again, armed with some change for an extra lunch and a bottle of advil. I was talking back to Judy back by the Sealer when the phone rang. "Nancy, it's for you" Judy called, but her eyes widened when Nancy picked up. Judy quickly hung up, closed her eyes, opened them, and said, "Shit."

A few minutes we heard screaming. Nancy was hysterical. Judy and I eyed her, but Steve was already taking care of her. She bustled out - and we got the call later. Her dad had just passed away. I gulped, remembering her words yesterday - "I've had about enough." Poor Nancy.

Soon it was time for me to go home, so I punched out and trudged home. When I got home, however, I noticed our Toyota Echo wasn't in the garage. Mom met me at the door. "Hi, Mom, where's Becca?", I asked, thinking Becca was out late. "Becca?" she said, "Becca's here." "Then where's the Echo?" I asked. Mom laughed woodenly. "Good question" she said in a strange voice. "It's totalled."

I gasped. "Is Becca alright? She didn't!" The Echo is normally the car Mom drives. "No, I did," Mom said. I gasped again. "It was a deer," Mom continued. "I hit a deer. I was driving at 65, saw a flash of white, and I didn't even have time to move my foot to the brake."

So what a nasty week. Not so much for me, but for the people around me. So much death, so many regrets. Tonight I'm going to try not to talk in the break room, because I think I'm jinxing everybody. Yuck Yuck double Yuck.

Anyway, the twins graduate from 8th grade. My supervisor won't let me leave early to watch them, but I'll be home at 9 tonight instead of 1. I pray that this week goes better, and that every one stays safe. I also pray that the graduation goes well, and the twins can enjoy this wonderful time. And here's hoping for a better tomorrow.

Hearing: "Paranoid Android" - Radiohead.

earlier latest


- - 2004-09-17
quizes - 2004-09-14
- - 2004-09-13
G-mail. - 2004-09-05
what happened - 2004-09-05

current
archives
cast
rings
readers
profile
email
notes
guestbook
diaryreviews


[ Registered ]






Original design by Lis, but many modifications were done by me. Special thanks to diaryland. All content � Sarah, 2001 - 2003. If you steal my stuff I'll scream.