Summer Concert series
1:41 p.m. - 2003-08-13

hello. I return after my prolonged absence. well, I'm writing an entry anyway. and my abscence was prolonged.

This summer I have been attending several concerts. I have heard so much music, I feel sure my head will explode. It's bound to be very messy. Since I have not told you guys anything, I might as well start from the beginning.

Concert #1: Neil young with Katie.

Neil young has guts - I paid 40.00 for my ticket, and he only played one song I recognized. However, that was my favorite song by him, "hey hey, my my". Ok - the rest of his show wasn't even a concert, so much. It was more of - a live musical. Yah. It had a story line, live actors in costume and a set. and this really sexy girl called Sun. Neil and Crazy Horse sang all the songs, did all the dialoge. Over all, I did enjoy it.

Concert #2: Alkaline Trio with Tim and Becca. (my siblings)

My parents were all out of town one weekend, and I came home. "We're bored", tim and becca said. So I said, "ok, let's go see alkaline trio in milwaukee" and promptly we hopped in the car. Alkaline trio played really, really well, and i knew every single song by heart, pratcially. This was fantastic, considering the at the concert they gave earlier this spring involved only new music, and no hits at all. There was one huge drawback, however - this was at summerfest, so I was among thousands of people trying to see them. Whats even sadder is, I swear, the entire audience was there only to see Sum41, who would play next. Here we were, a freak, a metal head, and a fat girl, standing among rows and rows of so called punks who felt they were the height of punkieness but had never heard of alkaline trio, much less heard their songs, much less knew the words like I did. Oh, and they didn't dance, or enjoy it, because these punks havn't really been to concerts because thier parents won't let them becaues thier only 14. ha - I don't even call myself a punk, but i bet I could pull off a better punk than some of these stupid kids. Actually, it reminds me of the real punks you see at warped tour, with dirty clothes, beer, peircings and tatoos, rough punk clothes, and mohawks. I think i know how they must feel - like thier way of life is being mocked, sullied, ruined, by a bunch of stupid kids.

Ok, I'm going to stop my stupid punk rant - lol, and move on to the rest of the shows.

Concert #3 - Foo Fighters, with Becca and Tim.

This show was awesome. AWESOME! they played all my favorite songs, made us laugh, dissed the red hot chili pepppers (.....wait a sec...!) After they left the stage, becca and tim thought they were really done, but I knew better. They hadn't played everlong yet ..... but when they came back on stange, the first song they did was... Aurora!!!!!!! Aurora is one of my favorite songs by them, and it has been for a long time, but nobody really knows it - but i do. Hell, hell yah, I remember aurora. ;) Anyway, I left that concert feeling like, gold. Like, great, really great. We were hot, sweaty, smelly, thirsty, and throughly pleased. Over all, this might be one of the greatest concerts I've seen. I'll have to do a list of those, sometime.

Concert #4: Ozzfest with dinno, katie, greg, dan, nikki, becca, tim, and this guy named "ted". Ozzfest was a lot of fun. We got there late, due to me working till early that morning, just in time to catch "Cradle of Filfth". As far as that style of metal goes, they were probably pretty good, and using the soprano sound really gave balance to thier low music. On the other hand, I really dont' listen to that style, that.... heavy metal. I like stuff with a melody. Call me a girl, but even ozzy has melodies. These guys, do the same song over and over - sounds the exact same, the only difference being the titles. Right. Then the big stage opened up for the headliners.

First came chavelle - I think the boy singer is cute from this band, but damn I couldn't see a thing. I enjoyed "send the pain below", but that's about it. Next came Manson. I enjoyed him! I always feel great whenever I see him. This time, he had hookers, prostitutes, and mikey mouse ears. Even Becca enjoyed it. Then came disturbed - one of my favorite bands to see live. Dinno and katie left to find someone, so Tim and I rocked it out to this one alone - until these complete strangers behind us started dancing and singing with us. Next came korn - I'm not as avid a fan as many people are, but I still respect thier music. They pulled a tool and had parts of thier music videos playing behind them. Finally came ozzy. we stayed for a few songs, but exausted and sunburned, we left early - to beat the traffic. Full to the brim with metal music, we listened to "Les Miserables" on the ride home.

Concert #5: Warped tour with becca. Kaelin and ben were there, but I couldn't find them.

Warped tour was a bit of a dissapointment this year. I mean, I liked it, but the band line up wasn't that great. still, we saw some great music: the mad caddies, the dropkick murphies, pennywise, and becca's favorite band, Less than Jake. We were there for only about 4 hours, and left at around 8pm.

This concludes my summer concert series. This entrie is long enough the way it is, maybe you'll hear from me again.

Hearing: "Aurora" - foo fighters

earlier latest


- - 2004-09-17
quizes - 2004-09-14
- - 2004-09-13
G-mail. - 2004-09-05
what happened - 2004-09-05

current
archives
cast
rings
readers
profile
email
notes
guestbook
diaryreviews


[ Registered ]






Original design by Lis, but many modifications were done by me. Special thanks to diaryland. All content � Sarah, 2001 - 2003. If you steal my stuff I'll scream.