"Passions" rant.
12:59 p.m. - 2004-02-24

everyone's talking about the passions of christ, mel gibson's new movie. A lot of the controversy seems to be around the question, "Who killed Jesus?". This question bothers me, but it bothers me more that I havn't seen anyone bring this up yet:

Why does it MATTER who killed Jesus?

I always thought part of the beauty of the Easter story was that 1- This was preordained. Jesus's death was part of God's plan. He had to die, to be sacrified, for our sins. You know, we hear the word sacrifice in church ALL the time.

Jesus's death was a Planned thing. He knew it was coming - he talked to God about it, in an olive grove, while everyone else slept. He had a big last supper with his loved ones. When the police people showed up to take him, he ordered his apostles not to fight back, and healed the ear of one of his captors! I beleive it, too - Jesus was that kind of loving guy.

The second part of the beauty of the Easter story is that HE CAME BACK! He may have been killed, but that didn't stop him, oh no! So who cares who killed him, if he didn't even stay dead for long? No harm done, right?

In fact, I would almost conjecture that Jesus had to die, to prove to us God's power and love. When he came back to life in the physical world, he proved to us that God is there waiting for us, to bring us into an afterlife, heaven. We'll come back to life, in heaven. He had to die so he could come back to life. He also had to die and come back to show us that he'll come back again.

Finally, when it comes to me, and my personal religion, the words of Jesus are most important. Jesus said, while he was being killed, "I forgive you." Hey, did you hear that? Jesus forgave them!

So, please tell me, why do we give a fuck who killed jesus? and why did Mel leave out the most important part of the easter story - That God raised Jesus, to walk among us again. So really, Jesus didn't die. So why are we wondering who to prosecute?

Hearing: the fan, and me blowing bubbles

earlier latest


- - 2004-09-17
quizes - 2004-09-14
- - 2004-09-13
G-mail. - 2004-09-05
what happened - 2004-09-05

current
archives
cast
rings
readers
profile
email
notes
guestbook
diaryreviews


[ Registered ]






Original design by Lis, but many modifications were done by me. Special thanks to diaryland. All content � Sarah, 2001 - 2003. If you steal my stuff I'll scream.